This is a diary, let's see how long I can keep it up

In an effort to try to get myself to keep updating the site, (which gets more views, and you would be suprised to learn that a gamer looooves seeing number go up), I decided to try keeping a diary mainly focused on my gaming 'adventures'. I DO have other hobbies, I assure you, but I want to keep my website more or less focused on video games. I'm sure personal stuff will inevitably leak through a bit, so if you enjoy peeking into the lives of strangers here's your chance, I suppose.

To go back to the homepage, click here!
you'll have to scroll down sorry i'm working on making this div smaller still lol

March 20, 2024
Wow. Uh, hello again! I can't believe it's been a whole year since I started this (and ten months or so since I abandoned it...) I stand by all of these opinions still, but I don't play video games much anymore. Not like I've "grown out" of them or anything, it's just that my other hobbies consume more of my free time. So, what am I doing back here? Well, I decided to build a blog as a project for a class I'm in. It turns out all the free premade blog sites suck, and I don't really want to spend any money, so I figured I would return to this long abandoned attempt to learn html. I'm not going to link to that site here because it's gonna have my real name on it. Maybe if I start actually gaming again I'll come back here. who knows?

May 7, 2023
3ds surgery failed. Ordered another one from Japan 'cause it's way cheaper than buying an American one, but now I just have to wait a looooong time for it to ship.


May 6, 2023
It sure has been awhile! I was doing my finals and then went on vacation, so I haven't been around my computer in a hot second. Bad news! My 3ds broke today! The bottom screen responds to input, but it's completely black. I'm ordering some nintendo screwdrivers (the Y screw they like to use) to hopefully reconnect some ribbon cables? I took a flight recently and I'm thinking that something just got bumped out of place during all the travel...failing that, I'll have to get another 3ds, which is a huge bummer, cause I'm very particular-I like the 'new' 3ds that was NOT xl sized and that just wasn't sold very much in the states, so I'll probably have to get one imported from japan, which will cost like, 200 bucks, ugh. AND I'll lose all my save progress on my games! I put a ton of time into picross 3d and had just unlocked the final batch of levels, too. too bad! I'll post updates as I try more things! Here's hoping she can be saved!!!


April 20, 2023
Sorry it's been a minute! I have been playing video games though! Still addicted to 3d picross, still finishing up PMD sky. Reeeeeally close to finishing up sky (or at least, getting to evolve my starters). I'll probably go for the seven treasures and then call it off. I pulled out the official guidebook that i bought at a used bookstore years ago but never actually used, and it's super helpful! Really illuminates how suprisingly dense this game is, weird as it feels to say that about a pokemon spinoff game. I've also been thinking about picking up the new kirby game but I probably won't because tears of the kingdom is coming out so soon. Maybe at some point later in the summer? It's almost summer break for me! I'll be working a lot but I'd also like to use some of my time to really fix up this website, make it nice and pretty.


April 12, 2023
My crippling picross addiction has returned. This happens literally every time I allow myself to get a new picross game. 3d picross is one of the best games I've ever played but I genuinely cannot come up with a single thing to say about it. It's picross but in 3d. If you like picross, you'll probably like this too. Sorry for being extremely boring but this is a gaming diary and I'm going to share what I'm playing even if it's not about anything exciting!


April 10, 2023
Guess what! I hacked my 3ds the day before yesterday, and yesterday I figured out how to download games directly from the 3ds! I've downloaded a handful of games but the only one I've played so far is 3d Picross 2 and let me tell you I've been wanting to play this game for YEARS and I am so happy to say it has met all of my expectations so far! It's too boring to talk about and there's not much I can really write on the subject even if I wanted to but I looooove picross and other puzzle games like it. Truth be told, I have probably logged more hours in various picross games then 3d platformers. I feel pretty proud of myself for having finally done it, and I'm happy to know I'll never have to buy another 3ds game! Still have to figure out ds games but hey now I've got all the puzzle games I could ever want!


April 8, 2023
Still thinking about hacking my 3ds. I found my micro sd to sd card adapter today so now all i need is the micro sd card itself-the one already in my 3ds is very small (only 4 gb) so I think I'm gonna try to find a bigger one.


April 7, 2023
Finished the main story of explorers of sky yesterday!! I forgot the credits trigger right at the moment your partner breaks down on the beach fucking sobbing you because he misses you so much oh my god. i know you get brought back as soon as the credits are over but oh my goooood it really makes you think the game is just gonna END with your partner mourning you it's so heartbreaking but i'm gonna keep playing it to finish all the post-game story events. I wanna actually play this file all the way to evolving me and my partner this time! Like I said, never done it before. Also played a few more hours of FF7remake. It's pretty cute, honestly, and I like how campy? corny? it is. combat is snooze, I just set it to the easiest mode and button mash my way through it because i cannot be assed to care. You know, I think it would be cute to make the backgrounds of all my pages a different mario 64 texture. For now, at least. Would probably change the css to not have the background image and just put it in the style section for each page? It's something I could do right now if I wanted to but first I'm gonna force myself to do some actually necessary tasks in my real life. check back soon!


April 5, 2023
Still playing explorers of sky, just got to the part where you team up with Grovyle upon learning he's actually the good guy (and your former partner!!!) all along. God, he is just written to be SO cool! I still remember losing sleep over as a child over how crazy that twist was that he was actually the good guy, and that at one point he even worked with dusknoir. PMD really is the best possible representation of a middle stage evolution pokemon we have-the only one, really. It's too bad that every single middle evo stage pokemon is kind of bound to be forgotten because there's so much thought put into their designs! but the player won't be using them for very long in-game time and they aren't heavily featured in merchandise and marketing like the baby stage pokemon are, so that's just their lot, I suppose. As for the website....(chris chan voice) I'm workin' on it!


April 4, 2023
Hello hello! Finished red rescue team today, continued playing EOS. Finished the guild expedition chapter in like, an hour? It's amazing how fast I can do it now compared to how extremely long the game felt as a kid. The speed I'm getting through it now is due to years and years of replays (and actually understanding things like type matchups and my partner's ai and when to use items correctly). Hope all is well for you too, dear reader!


April 3, 2023
No big site updates today, sorry! Was busy with other things all day, one of which being that I started the final fantasy seven remake and another that I restarted my pokemon mystery dungeon explorers of sky file. I'm almost done with red rescue team again, and just from the start of explorers i can see such a massive difference in the writing quality. The first game just feels so unfinished! Eight hours in or so and i'm already on the last story mission? There's no story postgame at all?? Terrible! Now, I am an expert at PMD but still, eight hours is far far too short, and a good amount of that time was me leaving the gameboy open while I dealt with customers. I wonder how long it takes to beat pmd explorers? Let me tell you a secret: I don't think I've ever actually beat the final FINAL boss, palkia ever before? I've definitely made it to that dungeon but not beat the game. Oh! And if you were wondering about who I'm playing as, I'm a riolu and partner is munchlax. I've never used either of these guys before so I thought it would be interesting. Also I love how you can change the game speed on the explorers games. It's almost too fast on the highest speed! I think I'll try to finish rescue team tomorrow.


April 2, 2032
so I tried looking at sadgrl's css layout example but there was just soooo much text it felt overwhelming! I decided to start even smaller and go through the w3schools html tutorial from the very beginning. I got a few chapters/modules/sections/whatever in, and I feel like I learned a lot! go ahead and take a peek at my test page if you're interested in seeing what I've been learning! A few days ago I drafted what I'd like some of my pages to look like on here, and while I'm still pretty far from achieving any of that I feel like I took a pretty big step forward today. I think i'm most proud of myself for figuring out how to put multiple attributes in a style tag (keep everything within one pair of quotation marks, seperate each part with a semicolon and a linebreak). Slowly but surely i'm making this place feel like home!
as for gaming stuff....well, I played in the splatfest for a bit yesterday. me and the friends i played with but mostly me are all REALLY rusty at the game so we were losing the whole time lol. We certaintly weren't team nessie's finest warriors. I played some more mystery dungeon (red rescue team) today as a procrastination tactic, and I'll probably play it a little bit more later tonight. also, at a friend's very adamantreccomendation, I borrowed the final fantasy 7 remake. I did the massive download already, might check out the game later tonight or tomorrow. I'm thinking tomorrow 'cause there's some reading I wanna get done tonight. I hope you learned something new today too!


April 1, 2023 No big updates today either, sorry! I will be participating in the splatfest all evening. Go team Nessie!!!


March 30, 2023 I actually DID play videogames today lol. Today at work I decided to start a new save of Pokemon Mystery dungeon (the gameboy one. red rescue team? or was it blue?) I managed to get three hours of play in my five hour shift lmao. I really do have a lot of time to just sit on my ass there. Too bad I'll be leaving in a few weeks! Anyways, the writing is DEFINITELY not nearly as tight as it is in the Explorers games. But the gameplay is basically the same, minus some quality of life improvements (especially having to do with item management) that I sorely missed. I think I figured out why I've never been able to REALLY get into pokemon (I say this even though I probably have a few hundred hours of various pokemon games of all the ones I've owned. that said, I haven't been able to finish over half of the ones I own. I think I've only managed to beat the elite four...four times? White 2, X, Sun, and Sword. There are many many many more unfinished saves in the other pokemon games I own. I think the reason I can't get too into it, or I lose patience quickly, is because of how slooooow the battle system is compared to the instant, seconds long battles in the PMD games. You see, my first pokemon game was actually a mystery dungeon game (darkness) and I think that really impacted my expectations for the mainline games-in gameplay as well as story. I was pretty dissapointed when I found out you can't play as a pokemon in the 'real' games! In case you were wondering, in this save file I'm playing as a Pikachu and my partner is a Mudkip. I thought that it was a smart idea because she could cover my ground type weakness, but I fear we both won't do too well against grass types (I can protect mudkip, but not well, given grass's resistance to electric). Here's a personal headcanon-choice-whatever I make every time I play pokemon games: I never name my partner pokemon, ever. I think it's to keep him or her consistent with the rest of the world. After all, none of the other npc pokemon characters have names, so why should he/she? Names are only a human concept in this world, it seems. So I always give myself a name (Daze is my go-to. I use it for every single game that lets you name yourself unless that character already has a name like in the Zelda games where you can technically name link. But it feels weird to play those games as 'daze' because clearly that's link on the screen, not me. No backend site updates, but I have big plans? Will I be able to fulfill them? keep visiting to find out!


March 29, 2023 Hmm....well, I got the header/description/whatever in its own div but that one is too big. This means I need to make different divs with different sizes in the style sheet, right? And then name one of them something like "div 1" and "div 2" and then use those same names in here, right? I'll try that another day, as it's late here. No gaming updates to share with you today because I haven't played anything. Tues/Wed/Thurs are very busy days for me and I have another very time consuming project that I've been working on. Sorry for being so vague! It's not like I'm keeping it a secret for some big reveal later; rather I'm not planning on revealing it here at all. It's an effort to keep this site from completely turning into a personal blog and keep it at least somewhat focused? hopefully? I also want to keep myself of setting a precedent of getting TOO personal on here lest I pour my entire heart out to complete strangers (or no one at all...would that be more or less sad?). Aaanyways, I'm keeping up with my updates at least! I believe I've been on here a little over a week now! woohoo


March 28, 2023 Tears of the Kingdom footage released today! I loved it!!!! I'm seriously super excited to start playing with all the new mechanics myself. I hope we still get to keep the old ones though? I really liked the ice one especially for traversal, and it'd be quicker than building a boat like they do in the footage. Regardless though, extremely cool. I hope the map is significantly different from the last game but I doubt they'd do much to change the landscape if it's a direct sequel. Oh! And doesn't link look cool? I loved his new outfit and I liked seeing him with his hair down, the style looks good on him. God, I loved running around in Hyrule in botw SOOOOOO much. I remember it being all I could think about during the day. When I was in school, I would put places I wanted to go in my little planner right next to my homework for the day, lol. I'm absolutely positive totk will invoke the same feeling. And with the added bonus that it'll come out when I'm on summer break (am college student), I'll really have the time to nolife it! Seriously, cannot wait. Also, I applied this css to the rest of the site! I don't love how it looks, but I think it looks marginally better than just plaintext. i wanna add divs, divs, and more divs! sidebars, top bars, bottom bars....full of thoughts on what i'd like to do with my site but have not been investing as much time into it as i'd like...it's okay though because I got a chance to play gartic phone with some friends for the first time! There is really no better feeling than howling with laughter. Here's a fun fact about me, dear reader: I snort when I laugh sometimes.


March 27, 2023 Did a tiny bit more work with the site today. Changed the font and changed the theme of the diary. I'd like to add more margins to the sides within this div and also put up sidebars navigating to other corners of the site, maybe? Or figure out how to place down stickers, graphics, whatever.This website building thing is slow going! I guess it gives me a long term project to work on (perpetually....). Also! Did you hear they're gonna show gameplay footage of the new zelda game tomorrow? I'm super excited! I played botw back in 2018 and I adored it! I seriously cannot wait for the next one to come out, I just hope they've actually remixed the map a fair deal and won't just give us the exact same map after 7 years since the last game. Also do you like that I'm bolding my dates now? I think it looks good and helps stop this page from being an enormous wall of text. I hope changing the font size can help with that issue as well. I'm thinking my next step will be to maybe bite the bullet and download a premade theme to play around with on a private test page to see what everything does. I'm still adamant about not using a premade theme for my site but I think it might be helpful to see how things like navigation bars are laid out. Will probably use sadgrl's like everyone else on here does lol. Hmm...I think I'll also put the most recent entries at the top instead of the bottom. Also added a space between each entry just now. All of this should aid readability.


March 26, 2023. Look! I figured out how to change the site's color in the css page! I'm basically already done learning to code now. Haha, but seriously, I think i'll take a bit of time this "morning"(whoops) to follow a tutorial maybe? I want more polish. Here is where it might be useful to just take someone's template, like the one from sadgrl that I've seen around here a few times. It could help me figure out what everything does by picking apart something already finished....or I could just try to learn from scratch. Probably will keep writing in this entry later! (returning to this entry on the same day) Well! I figured out div! and I also figured out backgrounds! go check out my test page if you wanna see it. centering is still a challenge, i'm workin' on it.


March 25, 2023. Spent much of the day pursuing a different personal project, but I just spent the better part of an hour stuck on a particular demon turf level, and it was agonizing. The second area's boss fight, if you were curious. It teaches you this new high speed rolling move, and gives you literally ONE chance to practice in a safe place before throwing you into a multiple stage boss fight. And every time you fall off the track you have to go down really fast, it throws you back to the boss-fight part where you have to knock him off the stage mario 64 style, so you don't even get to keep trying the track right away, it takes a minute or two for every attempt. Infuriating. Ugh, I hate being so negative about this game because I do think it's genuinely fun most of the time, especially when i'm not in combat (the combat is really abysmal). Seriously, why include so many long combat sections in a 3d platformer? No one is thinking, "wow! An indie dev made a game in a genre I loved to play as a kid! Can't wait to interrupt the gameplay with mandatory "clear the room of enemies" sections!!" I'm not even talking about optional extra missions like that one in one of the mario galaxy games where you have to kill a hundred goombas in thirty seconds (I'm exaggerating) or something like that. you HAVE to get through them to beat the levels which are all MANDATORY to move on! Today I found myself wishing for a white tanooki suit to pop up, like it did in mario 3d land. That would have been reallllly appreciated. I don't care if I miss out on the achievement or whatever. Oh and one more gripe. There's this little helper dude who will not stop yelling out the same unhelpful advice to you during the fight, literally every few seconds. I'm glad I finally beat the level because I'm not sure how many more "HEY BEEBZ" I could have taken in that scratchy, whiny voice. I did play a level I really liked though. It had you going into and then climbing up a volcano, just like super mario 64. This dev clearly knows his shit (ostensibly...) and I do appreciate that.


March 23, 2023. I want to keep updating regularly so that's what I'm doing, even though I didn't play a single video game today. I played some sudoku on my phone, if that counts. Actually, that's an interesting question to pose. Do games like solitaire and sudoku "count" as video games?(and can I successfully write in itallics on here?) I think that they certainly count as games because there's a win and lose state that is controlled by the player. And if they're played through interaction with a screen (i.e. video signal) then certainly they have to count as video games? I say that, but then I also wouldn't consider someone who plays, like, chess online to be a "gamer". Much to ponder. Tomorrow I'll be pretty busy but on Saturday and Sunday I want to put more work into my "computer-y" projects, which are learning html and learning to hack my 3ds. I'll probably have to go get a microsd to sd card converter, and maybe a new microsd card. Also I have to find a screwdriver to take off the faceplates on my 3ds 'cause I'm using the 'new' model. Ciao for now!


March 22, 2023. Realizing that the 3ds eshop is about to close, I decided to buy Pushmo, which I'd heard about a few times but never played. Recently I've been bringing my old handhelds to work and playing games when there's no customers (and sometimes when there are) and I thought it would be a fun little thing to try out. I really enjoy it! It's an excellend 3ds puzzle game, and I am currently trying to resist buying the rest of the series right now. If I can hold off for just a few more days, then I'm safe. It's been getting me to think more seriously about hacking my 3ds. I know it's a meme by now, but I have heard that it's very easy to do. (as you can tell) I'm not very tech savvy, so it's daunting and a little scary to think about. Also, I don't know how I'll be able to stop myself from just mass downloading a ton of games I'll never play or even look at ever again. I already have probably two dozen games or so that I've bought and have not once booted up and played, and having piracy availible to me will make my problem exponentially worse, I think. Also, I'm sure this is some logical fallacy but I think it will make me devaulue my (modest) collection of legit 3ds games that I've already paid for. Nevertheless, I think it's a good option. I already spend a lot of money on things that aren't as easy to steal as video games, so I should really just start pirating old ones that would cost an arm and a leg from a secondhand store. The only real barrier is myself, how long I'm willing to be patient, learn new tricks, and just focus on something. I'll update you on my journey to becoming an ELITE HACKER if I ever go through with it.