May 2024


May 15, 2024

I can't believe i watch and rewatch so many fucking video essays that I'm catching editing techniques being used by one person and imitated months later by another. I'm talking about bobby brocoli and summoningsalt. The way salt contextualizes the numbers in his most recent tetris video feels exactly like bobby's blender animations( though salt doesn't use 3d, he used 2d graphs. the big difference is when bobby hypes up a big achievement it's usually a scientist fucking lying his ass off but when salt does it it's setting up an insane new speedrunner entering the scene out of nowhere. Can you tell i'm baked? lol.


May 14, 2024

Vet visit went well, cats are both healthy (besides aforementioned fatass). I've been playing animal well all evening/afternoon and I think I need to force myself to do something else for the rest of the night lol. That game is maddening, in a good way. It's not often I feel so enthralled in a game, so I want to relish the feeling whenever it comes. I continued playing mario 64 ds during my break, and I've crossed the halfway point (in star count, although the latter stars are always way harder than the earlier ones). I was about to apologize for being so boring, but I don't think I need to! I've been feeling pretty good this week, so there's nothing to apologize for. Work is going fine, of course I would prefer to not work but i do need the money (and to do something with my time so I don't go insane).


May 13, 2024

Another 6 am shift tomorrow...yay. It's not so bad really, getting out in the afternoon instead of the evening is great! I had the day off today, and no family activities to bother me, so I was able to really sink my teeth into animal well again. I'm hell bent on getting all the eggs, then i plan to watch people solve the rest of the game's mysteries. I also finally planted the seeds I'd been meaning to! I planted some cotton, basil, catnip, and random wildflowers. I even dug up some worms to put in all my pots and planters. Is this how good gardening works? Maybe, maybe not. But catching worms just felt like the right thing to do in the moment. Tomorrow I'm taking my cats to their first yearly vet appointment. Hope the vet doesn't yell at me too hard for one of them being a fatass. Oh, and I also set up my hammock today!


May 12, 2024

today sucked, can't lie. first nine-hour shift, and it started at six am so I'm pretty exhausted. Then I was forced into dinner with extended family in which we waited an hour outside the restaurant to be seated before finally giving up and leaving. I honestly don't know how i'm still awake right now but there's only one way to remedy that.


May 11, 2024

finally did some site work today! Even if just a little thing, I made a new landing page! Wanted a nice place to put my buttons and stuff, and also another excuse to reference my beloved mario 64. Tomorrow is my first 6 am work day. no way i'm getting enough sleep for it lol.


May 10, 2024

Spent all day working so I didn't get much chance to sink my teeth into animal well again. I'll try to roll credits tomorrow since I have the day off. Still playing mario 64 ds on my breaks and I just got to 50 stars today! that's not really a "third" of the way done though in my opinion because all the other stars are significantly more time intensive to get. I have almost all the secret stars already now.


May 9, 2024

Oh my god. You should play animal well like, right now.


May 8, 2024

Let's skip the part where i apologize to myself for not having worked on the site today

Still really enjoying Jak and Daxter! The spider cave level in particular was fantastic, especially the big wood structure you have to climb. Reminds me of being a kid and those rare precious times when i got to go to a playground out of your neighborhood, usually on a road trip or something, and it was a wood one so I had to be careful not to get splinters but it was magnificent and taller than the normal ones I'd see day to day. ...I wonder if there's a correlation between 3D platformer fans and people who enjoyed climbing trees as children?


May 7, 2024

note to self to write these before the edibles kick in...

Um, what's there' to say today... worked again, played more mario 64 ds and it did in fact run better on the ds lite, and that's about all i did today. Thaaaaat's wagie life!


May 6, 2024

Afraid I've gotten a bit lazy with my site...sorry about that! well, I did just start the new job, and I need to get re-acclimated with only having a few hours of free time at the end of the day, lol. Standing on my feet all day is exhausting too, especially since I'm trapped at my register. But it felt good to be praised for the job I was doing (not that I was competing against much...I think all the retired folks getting groceries on a monday morning were just happy to get a bright peppy cashier who smiled instead of a 16 year old boy who wears airpods at all times and flirts with the female manager, lol

I brought my ds to work and started up mario 64 ds, new file. I don't believe I've ever actually beaten the game? And I can see why. It is very very difficult to control. but I was feeling the urge to play 64 again anyways, and this will help scratch that itch. Unfortunately my 3ds crashes every 20 minutes or so. I'm NOT getting another new one either. I just got this one last summer! Tomorrow I'll try bringing the ds lite i stole from my little sister because it's barely been used and hopefully won't have the same performance issues. Feeling disappointed with this sudden issue with the 3ds but I'm not gonna do anything about it this time. Last time I tried to fix something myself I just broke it further.

Still playing Jak and Daxter (menu says i'm at 32% complete). Basically the game is Banjo-Kazooie if it was good.


May 5, 2024

Did my new wagie job orientation today. At the end the manager was giving me a bunch of shifts and every time she read one for me to write down I died a little harder inside...hate it when you ask jobs to schedule you and then they actually do

Also, I've been really enjoying the first Jak and Daxter game! It's too bad the other two seemed to have transitioned away from pure platforming and into edgy story bullshit. lol, this and my last entry kind of make it sound like i hate stories in video games. That's not quite the case, but I kind of think storytelling is an all or nothing thing when it comes to games. I'll gladly play a well-written detective game/visual novel (and I truly adored Hypnospace Outlaw, Disco Elysium, and Pentiment. Check those out! They're fantastic detective games!). I just don't like when story interrupts the gameplay too much. I like that Jak doesn't speak at all. Daxter is...certainly of his era, so I can't truly hate him. More wisecracking than I'd prefer but his hints are genuinely helpful.

So far my one gripe with Jax and Daxter is how liberally it seems to give out power orbs (or maybe I'm just that good at the game haha). Think Mario Odyssey power moons rather than stars or jiggies. Still, the world design, especially the pseudo-open world element of it, is excellent. Looking forward to continue playing the game.


May 4, 2024

I've had to really dig to find all the 3d platformers available through the playstation plus subscription. Didja know they don't even bother making 'platformer' a searchable term anymore? It shows up as a tag on individual game descriptions but there's no dedicated section to browse through in the same way there is for "adventure" games (which is a stupid fucking genre by the way. Most games are adventure games, are they not? i guess it's just meant to be shorthand for """"prestige"""" 3rd person human player character game where you run around and walk from cutscene to cutscene and also you can't even fucking jump). Someday I may compile a list or something, although it would probably become outdated quickly as titles are added or removed, and I wouldn't bother to keep up the list unless I was still subbed, which I don't play to be for more than the next three months or so. 20 bones a month is a lot!

Oh yeah! Speaking of games I started Jak and Daxter today. It's pretty cool and i see myself playing more of it.

In daze's real life news, I start work tomorrow. It's just a bullshit cashier job but yknow, gotta go through the mandatory "what to do if there's an active shooter" drill or whatever. As long as they don't suprise drug test me i've got nothing to worry about.


May 3, 2024

Finally back home! I got my ethernet cable set up too, so now i can stream games faster. Oh, and I beat jumping flash today! Not gonna bother with new game plus but the base game was an absolute joy. Getting gamepass was a very good idea, though I still don't know how long I'll keep it. Will try to write about jumping flash in a more dedicated review tomorrow!


May 2, 2024

Just noticed nft room seems busted but I don't know why. Unfortunately I'll be away from my computer most of today and tomorrow but I still wanted to drop by to keep up my diary streak, lol.


May 1, 2024

New month! Spent the day doing as best I could under the circumstances (woke up with a terrible 10/10 pain in my neck unless I looked forward at all times) which was actually pretty good if I do say so myself. So like I said yesterday, I ended up getting the gamepass, and the first thing I played was Jumping Flash! I'm maybe halfway through it right now but I have a lot of big feelings about it that I want to share soon. Today I also decided that since it's on there, why not play undertale again? It's been years and years since I last played it anyhow.

I don't need to write a review on undertale. But I can spend some time talking about how this playthrough went. I thought I was really close to finishing it, but I was rushing and skipping through the sidequests. It had me feeling a little bit hollow, but I told myself I had more games to play and why am I wasting my time on one I already know I love? So I get to the ending, beat Asgore and Flowey blah blah blah...And since I haven't played it in so long everything seems fine...but then I roll the credits and all I get is a lousy phone call? but I didn't even kill anyone! So then I remember that to get the true ending you have to do the side content too. It took me literally all evening (and this is the first time in a LONG time I can remember sitting down and playing a game for four hours straight) but I got the good ending again and I started crying when I saw Toriel bring frisk home, hand in hand. I don't know why, I think the game's overwhelming earnestness and sincerity got to me or something. Undertale feels like a warm hug. This was a really nice way to begin my summer I think. Anyways, I'm really glad the true pacifist ending makes you see all the game has to offer before letting you have it (and this is all the game has to offer, yup yup!)

Also finished another crochet project! I didn't sew on all the pieces but I decided it looked better that way. Nothing to do with laziness, not at all